Skip to main content

Florida Virtual Schools Voucher - Orange County

Register Online


  Online Register 

About This Course


More Details 

Would you like Free Driver Education and Behind the Wheel Lessons?

Florida Safety Council & Florida Virtual School Co-op Program Orange and Polk Counties

The Florida Safety Council and Florida Virtual School are proud to announce an exciting program, FREE Driver Education, for teenage students attending Florida Orange County Schools and Florida Polk County Schools. Utilizing funds made available by the Dori Slosberg Driver Education Act, The Florida Safety Council and Florida Virtual School are offering this program, which includes virtual classroom training and Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons, free of charge.

Note: Each student must successfully complete the Florida Virtual School Online Driver Education Course before their free Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons from the Florida Safety Council. This program is available to all teenage students who are attending Florida Orange County Schools and Florida Polk County Schools, including those who participate in public, private, and homeschool programs.

The Driver Education course includes:

  • Six hours of Behind the Wheel Training
  • Driving lessons conducted on actual Florida roads and highways
  • Online classroom training
  • Class credit awarded upon completion
  • A certificate of completion.

After you have finished the online class, Call this number to schedule your appointment for the three free behind the wheel lessons.

Florida Virtual School

 Details


Driving School from FSC & FLVS Co-op Program

Please follow these steps to register and complete your free Driver Education course:

Steps (1 - 5)

  1. Log on to the Florida Virtual School website (https://www.flvs.net/online-courses/drivers-ed) and register for the Driver Education Program.
  2. Successfully complete the Florida Virtual School Online Driver Education Course.
  3. Obtain learner's license from the local D.H.S.M.V. Office.
  4. The Florida Safety Council will call to schedule driving lessons after the notification from FLVS of the student's successful completion of the Florida Virtual School Online Driver Education Course.
  5. After successful completion of the Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons, a certificate of completion will be issued. Providing that the student is at least 16 years of age, they may schedule the road test portion of the course. Students younger than 16 years of age will need to wait until their 16 birthday to apply for the license.

Requirements:

  1. Each student must successfully complete the Florida Virtual School Online Driver Education Course before receiving their free Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons from the Florida Safety Council.
  2. Each student must possess a valid Florida Driver License learner's license before enrolling into the Behind the Wheel portion of the Driver Education course. This permit must be presented at each Behind the Wheel Driving Lesson.
  3. Each Student must attend Orange or Polk County Schools, Florida in order to be eligible for the free Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons.
  4. Each student must attend all scheduled driving lessons. Missing a scheduled lesson will result in rescheduling fees, which must be paid by the parent or legal guardian. Any lessons that are missed and not rescheduled will result in a failure to complete the program and a forfeiture of class credit.
  5. Each student will be required to be on time for each lesson. Lateness exceeding five minutes of the originally scheduled lesson will be considered a "no show" and will become subject to rescheduling fees and a delay in the completion of the course.
  6. Each student must wear proper attire to each of their scheduled driving lessons. In addition to school dress code, proper attire includes:
  • Closed toe footwear. (No flip flops, sandals, or bare feet)
  • Appropriate length shorts or skirt or long pants (no shorts or skirts that are shorter than 4 inches above the knee)
  • Proper blouse or shirt. (No revealing tops, shirts or blouses)

Please click on the link provided to begin the registration process for the Florida Virtual School online Driver Education course. After completing the online portion of the course, you will be contacted by the Florida Safety Council to schedule your Behind the Wheel Driving Lessons.

FAQs 

  1. I live in Orange or Polk County FL, but I attend a private school or I am homeschooled. Do I qualify for this course?
    Answer: Yes, any teenager that attends Orange or Polk County Schools is qualified for the course, no matter the type of school attended.
  2. I live in another county, but I attend a private school in Orange or Polk County FL. Do I qualify for this course?
    Answer: Yes.
  3. Will my teenager be required to prove Orange or Polk County residency?
    Answer: No, Florida Virtual School will electronically notify the Florida Safety Council of your teenager's successful completion of the online course.
  4. Will I receive school credit for completing this course?
    Answer: Yes, the credit allotted for the course is (.5). Please check with your school guidance counselor for more information regarding the credit.
  5. Is there an age limit for students to receive the lessons?
    Answer: Yes ages 15 - 19 and the student attend Orange or Polk County FL Schools.
  6. How will the Florida Safety Council know to call me when I have completed my online course?
    Answer: Florida Virtual School will electronically notify the Florida Safety Council of your successful completion of the online course. The Florida Safety Council will then contact you via telephone to schedule your behind the wheel lessons and observations.
  7. How many hours of behind the wheel driving will I receive?
    Answer: You will receive 6 hours of actual driving and 6 hours (optional) in car observation time.
  8. What are the hours that I may schedule my teenager for lessons?
    Answer: The Florida Safety Council schedules driving and observation lessons 7 days per week at various times of the day. We will work closely with the parent to schedule convenient times and days, however, appointment times are given on a first come first serve basis.
  9. What are the hours that I may schedule my teenager for lessons?
    Answer: The Florida Safety Council schedules driving and observation lessons 7 days per week at various times of the day. We will work closely with the parent to schedule convenient times and days, however, appointment times are given on a first come first serve basis.
  10. Are the lessons only given during the school year?
    Answer: Lessons are given throughout the year, including the summer months. However, due to the credit given for completion, please check with your guidance counselor for completion time requirements.
  11. Will I receive a certificate of completion for my insurance company?
    Answer: Yes, you will receive a certificate of completion from the Florida Safety Council upon your successful completion of the Behind the Wheel lessons.
  12. Will I receive an insurance discount for completing the course?
    Answer: Insurance company policies vary dependent upon the company. Please check with your carrier for details.
  13. What if I cannot be present for one of my scheduled lessons?
    Answer: You will be responsible for attending all scheduled driving lessons. If you cannot be present for a scheduled lesson, you must notify The Florida Safety Council at least 48 hours in advance in order to reschedule without a fee. There are exceptions to this rule, such as a medically excused absence with a note from a physician. Other exceptions may apply, with acceptance of those exceptions being solely decided upon at The Florida Safety Council's discretion.
  14. Who will conduct my driving lessons?
    Answer: All driving lessons will be conducted by the State of Florida approved, background checked, drug tested, certified Driver Education Instructor.
  15. What kind of automobile will be utilized for my training?
    Answer: All lessons will be conducted using a Florida Safety Council, state-approved, fully insured, late model vehicle, specially equipped with a secondary brake. (The exact make, model, and type of vehicle shall be assigned on a first come, first serve basis and subject to availability).
  Back to top