Skip to main content

Learners Permit Testing

Thank you for selecting the Florida Safety Council for your DHSMV Permit Exam. We strive to meet your testing needs in a friendly, professional and stress-free environment.

Please call for appointment information:

Florida Driver License Knowledge Testing

Would you like a convenient and pleasant way to take your Florida Driver License Knowledge exam?

Want to avoid the long lines and don't want to wait for an appointment at the local License or Tag

Agency office?

Our online DHSMV permit exam is also known by the following names:

  • Road rules and road signs exams
  • Learners permit test
  • DHSMV permit test

The Florida Safety Council offers to test, without the long wait at the following locations:

ORLANDO

1505 E. Colonial Dr.
Orlando, FL 32803

   Office Hours: MON - FRI 8 AM to 4 PM and SAT 8 AM to 3 PM

   Phone: 407-897-4451

MELBOURNE

1515 Elizabeth Street, Suite C
Melbourne, FL 32901 

   Office Hours: TUE - FRI 8 AM to 4 PM and SAT 8 AM to 3 PM

   Phone: 407-897-8957

TAMPA

9389 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33612 

   Office Hours: MON - FRI 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

   Phone: 813-248-3009

Finished your TLSAE Course, the next step in getting your Drivers Permit is to complete the DMV Exam. The Florida Safety Council offers Learner License Testing.

All first-time drivers must complete and pass both the TLSAE course and the DMV Exam to receive their Learners Permit.

Study for the exam by using the Florida Drivers License Handbook.


If you are 18 years of age or older the State of Florida requires in-person testing.

ONLY Applicants Under 18  May take the Florida Driver License Knowledge Exam Online

Our Online Test is currently unavailable.

Under 18 - Click Here for the Online Exam

Online Price for First Time Teens is $29.40. Our system checks with the State of Florida to determine if any previous attempts have been made.

Please look below for documentation requirements for the In-Person Exam.

In-Person

 Price


$35.00

 Call 407‑896‑1894 or 1‑800‑372‑3335 for Details

 Details


Florida Learners Permit Testing

Requirements:   A Parent or Guardian MUST be with the Student if under age 18. Parent/Guardian must sign a release for the minor to take the tests.  A parent must provide a valid driver's license and sign a verification form ensuring that the minor's name, date of birth, and Social Security number are correct. We must have a complete Social Security number for the student. Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.

Are you over the age of 18?

All persons over the age of 18 or any married person under the age of 18 must provide full documentation at the time of testing. The following list provides an example of the required documentation:

1. Identification:

Bring one of the following:

  • Certified U.S. birth certificate
  • Valid U.S. passport
  • Certificate of naturalization
  • Consular proof of birth abroad
  • Alien registration receipt card (green card, form I-551)

2. Social Security Number

Bring one of the following:

  • Social Security card
  • W-2 form
  • Paycheck showing number
  • Any 1099 form

3. Residential Address (not post office box)

Bring one of the following:

  • Deed, mortgage, payment booklet, or rental agreement
  • Florida vehicle registration or title
  • Utility bill or hookup/work order
  • Statement from the person you live with along with two address documents in that person’s name.

 Name Change (if applicable)

Original or certified copy of all marriage certificates or court orders that show your name change(s) (Uncertified photocopies are not valid and will not be accepted)

What are the steps to becoming a licensed Florida driver?

  • STEP 1: If you have never held a regular driver license in any state, county, or jurisdiction, you must complete a Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course (T.L.S.A.E.) before applying for a Learner's license in the state of Florida.  The minimum age to be eligible to complete this course is 14 years and 6 months, however, the person must be 15 years of age to be eligible to complete the Learner's License Test.  Driver Education is also a pertinent component of becoming a safe driver.  For more information on free driver education classes, please use the following Florida Virtual Schools Orange County and Polk County.  (NOTE:  If you are under the age of 18 and are not married, your Learner's License or Operator's License must be approved by one parent or legal guardian.)
  • STEP 2: Once a person has reached the age of 15 years, he or she may test for the Florida Learner's License.  This examination may be taken at the Florida Safety Council online if the person being tested is less than 18 years of age, or in person at the Florida Safety Council main office.  After successfully completing this examination, the person shall report to the local DHSMV or Tax Collector's office in order to have their picture taken, legal residency verified and to receive the actual license.  (Note:  The DHSMV/Tag Agency reserves the right to randomly re-test any person before issuing the license.)
  • STEP 3: Any person under the age of 18 must maintain the Florida Learner's License for a period of 1 year from the date of issuance.  If a person has reached 18 years of age, they may proceed with the Florida Driver License Examination.  Please refer to the Florida Gather Go Get page for information pertaining to the identification requirements at http://gathergoget.com/Offices/default.aspx.  When completing the Florida License Examination, a person is tested on the following maneuvers:
  • Turn About (Three Point Turn)
  • Shifting Gears
  • Approaching of a Crossing
  • Observation of Right of Way
  • Straight-In Parking
  • Parking on a Grade
  • Stopping Quickly
  • Backing
  • Obeying of Stop Signs
  • Signal and Turn
  • Passing
  • Staying in Proper Lane
  • Following at a Safe Distance
  • Usage of Proper Posture

 Price


$35.00

  Back to top